
OLDER DRIVER EVALUATIONS - FACT SHEET FOR PHYSICIANS 
 

General Information Regarding Older Drivers 

 Arizona drivers enjoy an extended driver license which does not expire until the age of 65, although 

vision testing and photo need to be updated every 12 years.  

 Drivers 60 years of age or older receive a driver license that is valid for only 5 years. 

 No physician review is necessary to obtain or renew a driver license based on age 

Physician Reporting Requirements in Arizona 

 Physicians are NOT required  to report any patient 

 A physician may voluntarily report a patient to the AZ Department of Transportation, Motor Vehicle 

Division (ADOT-MVD), who, in the opinion of the physician, has a medical or psychological condition 

that could significantly impair the person's ability to safely operate a motor vehicle. (Arizona Revised 

Statutes §28-3005) 

To report a driver, complete this form:  

http://mvd.azdot.gov/mvd/formsandpub/viewPDF.asp?lngProductKey=2042&lngFormInfoKey=1861 

Medical Review Program of ADOT’s Motor Vehicle Division:  

A physician is unable to revoke or restrict a person’s license.   

 Final determination of an individual’s ability to drive is made by ADOT- MVD.  

 ADOT-MVD may revoke, suspend, or restrict a person’s driver license based on a physician’s report 

and further evaluation by MVD.  Examples of restrictions are: 

 Daylight driving only 

 No freeway driving 

 Driving within a defined radius of a person’s home 

 Golf cart driving only 

Immunity from Liability  

 Physicians who, in good faith, report drivers whose conditions may impair their driving, are immune 

from any civil or criminal liability.  (A.R.S. § 28-3005)  

Identifying at Risk Drivers 

 Physicians are well-suited to identify drivers at risk, based on ability, not age 

 There are 3 main areas that should be evaluated: 
1) Vision - Basic visual acuity, or sharpness of vision 
2) Cognition - Decision making, judgment, and planning (needed for making left turns). 
3) Motor and Sensory Skills - Reaction time (needed for stopping fast enough to avoid a crash)  

 

 Signs of unsafe driving include:  

• History of motor vehicle incidents/crashes 
• Forgetting how to locate familiar places  
• Failing to observe traffic signs  
• Making slow or poor decisions in traffic  
• Driving at an inappropriate speed  
• Becoming angry or confused while driving  

 

http://mvd.azdot.gov/mvd/formsandpub/viewPDF.asp?lngProductKey=2042&lngFormInfoKey=1861
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 Medical conditions that may impair a driver’s ability include: 

 Epilepsy 

 Arthritis 

 Vision impairments 

 Dementia (any type) 

 Cerebrovascular disease 

 Other neurodegenerative diseases 

 Substance abuse or dependence 

Assessments: 
 

 An MVD driving skills test or MVD Medical/Special Performance Evaluation drive (no additional fee) is 
the best way to assess driving skills  
 

Or 
 

 A driver medical evaluation by a nationally certified Driving Rehabilitation Specialist  
(fee for service): 

 
 

Adapted Driving Program  
Banner Good Samaritan Rehabilitation Institute 
1012 E. Willetta 
Phoenix, Arizona, 85006 
602-839-2317 
 
Driving to Independence 
1414 W Broadway Road, Suite 230 
Tempe, AZ  85282 
480-449-3331 
 

 
DriveAble Solutions 
4120 N. 20th St., Suite G 
Phoenix, AZ 85016 
Phone: 602-840-2323  

 

Driving to Independence 

4720 N. La Cholla Blvd. 

Tucson, Arizona 85705 

520-219-0550   

To report a driver, complete this form:  

http://mvd.azdot.gov/mvd/formsandpub/viewPDF.asp?lngProductKey=2042&lngFormInfoKey=1861 
 

American Medical Association’s Physicians Guide to Assessing and Counseling Older Drivers (in 

conjunction with National Highway Traffic Safety Administration): 

http://www.ama-assn.org/resources/doc/public-health/older-drivers-guide.pdf  
 

American Academy of Neurology’s Practice Parameter update:  Evaluation and Management of 

driving risk in dementia: 

http://www.neurology.org/content/early/2010/04/12/WNL.0b013e3181da3b0f.citation 
 

Driver Fitness Medical Guidelines by the American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators: 
http://www.granddriver.info/uploadedFiles/MainSite/Content/DriverLicensingIdentification/At_Risk_Drivers/Driv
er%20Fitness%20Medical%20Guidelines.pdf 
 

Arizona Revised Statute (A.R.S. § 28-3005) 
http://www.azleg.gov/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/ars/28/03005.htm&Title=28&DocType=ARS 
 

Arizona Revised Statute (A.R.S. § 28-3159) 
http://www.azleg.gov/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/ars/28/03159.htm&Title=28&DocType=ARS     
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